董事会议(不是沉闷的会议)- 与您的策略保持一致

在前期的增长基石报告中,我们会为客户先分析整理战略上的计划和一些常有的基本准则,以及如何轻松实现您的想法。客户只需要保持简单,并专注于“大战略方向”以解决和征服未来增长。

那么,现在来点复杂的,但仍然可以实现。当你身边的人发现你的企业处于领先地位,就可以在这个时候展示给他们说如何可以达到目标和如何持续地掌控并对接,并分享整个过程。这就可以论证出人力资源,资本资源和其他资源如何有效的对接从而完成计划,这些包括:

  • 制定每一步行动的发展时间表,并保证商业的每一部分,包括金融资源,都是致力于贯彻好整盘计划的。
  • 用行动的蓝图把相关人员的目标和工作描述结合在一起。
  • 把人员的行动蓝图进度标记出来,作为执行的业绩。如果相关人员处理的好,作出相应的奖励。如果做的不好…..就另当别论了
  • 制定有效的监测程序来跟踪一切事情

定期的董事会议和高级管理层的会议是达成目标的至关重要的元素。而且要紧盯着战略计划实施的每一步骤。企业先没必要搞成像BHP或者Woodside这样大规模的董事会(尽管很多客户觉得情况就要这样)

关键一点是集中注意力在战略计划上 – 对于战略计划的操作,如果可以以一些简单的图表,表格和线图来展示你想要达成的目标 – 产生记忆点,一张图片比千言万语更有表现力,如果用得好,对于行动更有说服力。总之,讨论时不要把话题带偏离到操作实际问题上,这样会使会议变得无趣(从战略角度上说)。

最后,记得不要固守着战略不变。因为世界总在变(包括商业内部和外部的因素)- 所以允许在审视战略进展的时候多创新,这样才会有意想不到的想法和考虑….这样也会使会议更加的活跃起来。

john-ogorman

John O’Gorman
Growth Specialist

Recent Posts

Board meetings (not boring meetings) – Staying on track with your strategy

In an early Cornerstone of Growth article, we looked at the need to plan strategically for your business on a regular basis and how it was easier than you might think – if you keep it simple and focus on “big strategic boulders” that the business needs to address and conquer for future growth.

Well, now comes the trickier, but still achievable, part. Once your people know where the organisation is headed, then it’s time to show them how to get there and to continually monitor and assess how you are going on that journey.  This means demonstrating how people, money and other resources will come together to achieve the plan, including:

  • Developing schedules of action and making sure that all parts of the business, including financial resources, are focused on implementing the plan.
  • Linking people’s goals and job descriptions with the blueprint for action.
  • Making the blueprint the yardstick for performance. If people implement it well, reward them accordingly. If they don’t . . . well, that’s another story.
  • Putting in place effective monitoring procedures to track how everything is going.

Regular board and senior management meetings are vital to achieving this and keeping an eye on how you are progressing towards your strategic plan – and you don’t have to be BHP or Woodside to hold a board meeting (although some clients still think this is the case!).

The critical thing is to stay focussed on the strategy – it helps if your strategic planning exercise created a few simple graphics, tables and diagrams that show what you are trying to achieve – remember, a picture is worth a thousand words and can be a compelling call to action if used well. Most of all, don’t allow the discussion to get side-tracked into operational matters and hence become boring (from a strategic viewpoint!!).

And finally, remember that no strategy should ever be set in concrete because things change (both internally and external to your business) all the time – so allow for creativity when you meet to review your strategy progress and you never know what might pop up for consideration….and it will stop the meeting from getting too boring!


John O’Gorman
Growth Specialist

Recent Posts